Mel-Hoffstead-photographWan to have balance and well being in your life?

Holding Reiki in your hands for life!

Reiki Level 1 "Shoden" honouring  the  Usui  Shiki Ryoho system

With Reiki Master  Mel Hoffstead.

She has 24 years experience  as a Reiki Master and is a member of the Reiki Alliance.


10th - 11th September   29th - 30th     October   19th - 20th   November


Teaching in small groups in the oral tradition,

History of Reiki, 4 initiations,

Learning self  treatment and treatment

for friends and family.

Look forward to hearing from you.


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

020 7263 2628








9 November  -   11 November


39786227 311197379439397 24185162707238912 n












Usui Shiki Ryoho (the Usui System of Natural Healing), known as Reiki, is a form of healing and spiritual awakening, received and developed 100 years ago by a Japanese man,  Mikao Usui. It was brought to the West by Hawayo Takata via Hawaii in 1937. It is passed on from master to student through specific initiation rites, teachings and defined forms of practice. The  Usui system is a way of working with Reiki for healing of self and others-regaining harmony and wholeness. In the Usui Shiki Ryoho system there are four aspects.


  • Healing practice. It is a hands on healing practice for regular self- treatment and treatment of others resulting in enhanced health and well- being.
  •  Personal Development. Giving and receiving Reiki through Usui Shiki Ryoho stimulates a process that brings about a clearer sense of self-deepening  self -love and growing awareness of one’s true self.
  •  Spiritual Discipline.   Inherent in this practice is the awakening of a spiritual practice, spiritual development and awareness of the sacred in daily life.
  •  Mystic Order.  The practice of Usui Shiki Ryoho   brings about an experience of the mystery of life and mystic experiences. There is a sense of community, connection with others who have been initiated into this practice.

Within the dynamic of the four aspects there is the practice and philosophy called the Form. There are nine elements with each one having the same importance.

  • Oral Tradition. Teaching and energetic transfer through direct face to face contact with a Reiki Master.
  • Initiation. The ritual passed down from Reiki Master to Reiki Master. Through the initiation the student is able to practice Reiki for self- treatment and for treatment of others.
  • History. The reiki story is told in reiki classes as part of the oral tradition.
  • Spiritual Lineage. The spiritual lineage of the Usui Shiki Ryoho is Mikao Usui, Chujiro Hayashi, Hawayo Takata and Phyllis Lei Furumoto. Phyllis Furumoto is the living lineage bearer and has a central role for the reiki community. 
  • Precepts. The five spiritual precepts have been handed down from Dr Usui and can be seen as moral guides in daily life.
  • Form of Teaching. There are two levels of reiki and the classes are taught in a very relaxed supportive way keeping to the simplicity of the practice. In level 1 there are four initiations, they learn about aspects and the form, the history, how to do a self- treatment and treat others.  In Reiki11 there is one initiation and the student receives three symbols- keeping them as sacred tools.
  • Symbols.  The symbols of this system are energetic keys which help to access higher levels of awareness , deeper healing, and personal growth.
  • Treatment. Treatments are the foundation practice of the form. First for self  ,then for others. There is a specific sequence and positions for the laying on of hands and it is through these treatments healing takes place.
  • Money.  Each step of this system has a specific monetary fee.$150 for first degree,$500 for second and $10,000 for Mastery.


times online logoguardian-1just for today



CNHC Registered Quality Mark Web version